Facing a DUI charge can be stressful for a Georgia driver. Not only does a DUI conviction carry legal consequences, but it can also lead to issues in one’s professional and personal life. Those facing a first-offense DUI charge should be aware of the possible repercussions so they’re able to understand their legal options and obligations.
What happens when one faces a first-offense DUI?
In the state of Georgia, someone who is convicted of their first DUI offense may have their driver’s license suspended for 12 months. This applies to drivers who are 21 years of age and older. There are conditions that allow for a driver to ask for the reinstatement of their license after 120 days. These conditions include completing an approved alcohol or drug abuse class and paying the fees associated with license reinstatement.
Georgia has a law for implied consent where drivers are required to submit to state-administered chemical tests if authorities believe they are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. When a driver refuses to be tested, their license may be suspended for a minimum of 12 months. When this happens, the driver is not eligible for a limited driving permit.
What to do when facing a DUI charge
Georgia drivers have the right to work with an experienced attorney when facing a charge of DUI. An attorney can provide guidance on the best strategy of defense depending on the circumstances. Anyone facing such serious charges may understandably be nervous about their future so it’s important to seek legal advice in a timely manner once charges are filed.